Crystal Rainbow with Gold at Both Ends

rainbow

Crystal Beach, San Narciso, Zambales (11/3/2013)

The past few weeks have not been good for me. As my closest friends know, I recently found myself dwelling (rather unconsciously) in a season of indifference coupled by overwhelming bouts with melancholy.

One of the worst things to hear, which I guess served as an obvious wake up call for me, was to be told I had SAD EYES.

Something was wrong… My passion was dwindling and I knew exactly what was causing it. More than anything, I had to feed my soul and was being reminded to turn to Him.

Some people ask me why I travel a lot. Two things:

  1. The world is so beautiful and I desire to experience it in all its glory.
  2. It’s when I’m experiencing the wonders of nature that I feel and connect to God the most.

Traveling is one of my ways of running to Him. It’s me saying “Lord I desperately need you in my life right now… Captivate me with your beauty once again”. True enough, He never fails to embrace and comfort me with the magnificence of His creation. Each unique sunset, the vibrant colors of the sky, the cool breeze, the crashing waves… All pointing to His majesty and how HE IS in control.

From the vastness of the deep blue sea to the inner recesses of my “fragile yet trying to be strong heart” — Surrender. Let go… HE IS in control.

This rainbow signifies His promise… THERE’S HOPE. I know He is with me and will see me through this season. My spirit may be weak but I’m choosing to rely on His unfailing love for strength.

“Not in the time of pleasure
Hope doth set her bow;
But in the sky of sorrow,
Over the vale of woe.

Through gloom and shadow look we
On beyond the years!
The soul would have no rainbow
Had the eyes no tears”.

— John Vance Cheney

Isaiah 40:29-31

29 He gives strength to the weary
and increases the power of the weak.
30 Even youths grow tired and weary,
and young men stumble and fall;
31 but those who hope in the Lord
will renew their strength.
They will soar on wings like eagles;
they will run and not grow weary,
they will walk and not be faint.

Leave a Reply

